Weaving in Reno

014-redblue-frame

South Valleys Library, Reno, NV – This is sample weaving I did during a “Learn To Weave Day” with Reno Fiber Guild on Saturday. We brought looms to the library so people can see and touch. This is a simple loom that I made to demonstrate that weaving does not need to be expensive to start.

034-franco-weaving

Here I am weaving on my “contraption” loom. It’s a simple frame loom with legs so I can sit in a chair and weave anywhere. Because I was doing weaving demonstrations I did not get any pictures of the families who came to try weaving.

014-table-loom

This is a multi-shaft table loom that can create many patterns of weaving.

002-28-backstrap-loom-sq-tile

Before the demonstrations began I had chance to see Rachel’s backstrap loom. She learned backstrap loom in Guatemala. Her clothing is woven by her on backstrap. I found the method of attaching the warp to the beam with a cord to be very interesting. (Bottom right)

029-samples

Samples of weaving created by members. It was a good day!

Leave a Reply

